Outdoor Explorations · Poetry · Random Thoughts · Sacred Spaces · Writing

Hidden in plain sight

Beneath the airport flight path
I listen and hear
The trickle of a stream winding through a yard

Amongst the concrete and steel monoliths
I look and see
Squirrels skittering through leaves

With my back to the highway
I strain my ears against the noise
And hear chickadees chattering to each other

Slow down and stop
Take in the world around you
Can you find the treasures hidden in plain sight?

For several years, I’ve made it a point to get outside during my lunch. It doesn’t matter where I am when I am working; I go outside for part of it. I unplug – I don’t have a music player; I don’t text or surf from my phone; I take time to observe…to just be out.

It doesn’t matter where I am at the moment, in the city, out in the suburbs, an industrially developed area, if I look and listen, I can find signs of nature. This helps me to separate from the business of the day and find a sense of calmness and rest, even if it is for only a short time. When I return to my desk and the ringing of the phones, I’m refreshed and the afternoon seems new to me.

So, reader, I offer a challenge to you. For one week, take a portion of your lunch break and get outside. Put away the smartphone, unplug the earbuds and observe. See what you find out in plain sight that as you rush through your day gets missed. How does this change the rest of your day?

One thought on “Hidden in plain sight

I like your likes, but would really like to know what you think! Please leave a comment.

