Poetry · Writing

30 Days of Poetry

Ever since I started this blog, I wanted to be consistent about writing and posting.  If you were to look over the archives, you’d see the only way I’ve been consistent is my inconsistency of posting.  As 2012 drew to a close, I knew that was something I wanted to do better about in 2013.

But, how to do that?  What could I do to get serious about posting, and about writing to share in general?

Finally, in the last days of the year, I came up with it.  I’ll write and post one poem a day for 3o days.  So, 30 days of poetry was born. I started this on January 2 with no fanfare.  In fact, I didn’t even tell my wife about it until three or four days in.  Something about speaking something out loud, or writing it down for the world to see, seemed a bit nerve-wracking.  I wanted to get out of the gate and start running.  I didn’t want to put it out there, and then trip on my first couple of steps.

So, I’m now on day 13 of my effort, and have 14 poems posted to show for it.  At the end of my 30 days, I’ll put up a post about my thoughts and feelings in this process.  What I’ve observed about myself and my writing style and approach (if I notice one, that is.)

If you want to easily reference all the poems I’ve written as part of my 30 Days of Poetry, simply click here, or on the 30 Days tag on any poetry post this month!

One thought on “30 Days of Poetry

  1. It ocurred to me yesterday that you’d set yourself a challenge. Good for you! I have enjoyed seeing your poetry. Keep up the writing!

I like your likes, but would really like to know what you think! Please leave a comment.

