Poetry · Writing

30 Days of Poetry – Reflections

Parker fountain pen and Oberon journal
Parker fountain pen and Oberon journal

Well, I finished up my 30 days of poetry series on Thursday, January 31.  When I started this off, I was quiet with it, and just started posting.  It wasn’t until about two weeks into the effort that I announced what I was doing.  I wanted to have a good running start with this, and get into a rhythm.

As I wrote, I found it was going really well.  I had some concerns with whether or not I’d be able so sustain my pace; if I’d come up with things to write about.  I guess this is something everyone starting to write goes through.  The question of “Can I do it?” seems to loom overhead once we commit ourselves to something of consequence to us.

It turns out, I needn’t have worried about that.  Slowing down and taking time to observe gave me lots of things to pick from, as I noted in Waiting for Inspiration.  The experience with the 30 Days of Poetry project helped me shift my mind into a place where I could think “poetically” about the things I observed around me.  This is something I had experienced on occasion as I would take walks; as I’d wait for the Water Taxi at Seacrest Park; as I’d sit under a tree in a park.  But until this, it came more in fits and starts, not really being sustained.

They say it takes 30 days to develop a habit.  I think that this effort helped me to get into the habit of not only writing poems, but writing in general.  As I watched my poetry notebook (mentioned in my post A Day Begins) fill up, and take on a battered, well-worn look, and my blog post count almost doubled, I also noticed my journal was filling up faster and each day’s entry growing longer (in fact, this morning, I wrote almost 5 pages…and I’d only been up a couple of hours!)  So, I’d say that writing has become a habit.  So much so that when I didn’t write anything on Friday (not a journal entry, not a blog post, not a poem), it felt just, well, wrong!

Another thing I discovered as I did this is my consistency has brought more readers.  It appears that a lot of folks follow my blog through WordPress, and I would imagine a few others through RSS feeds or read my posts on Facebook.  Finally, I know that there are a couple who get the posts delivered directly to their e-mail.  As I wrote more, I noticed more feedback, in the form or “Likes” on my posts.  Now I’d love to have some more comments, but knowing I’m being seen is, well, a bit of an ego boost, to be honest.  But I’d like to think that the “Likes” are a reflection of what I write actually striking a positive tone with someone as they read.  I like that idea.  That’s why I share my poetry, rather than keep it all inside me, or in my notebook or journal.

I plan to continue posting my poems on a regular basis.  It may not be as frequent as I have through the month of January.  I have some ideas for what I’d like to do with my poetry, and where I’d like to take it.  As I work those details out, I’ll share more here.

This month ended with a really pleasant surprise for me.  My final poem posted for January, In Front of Barney’s, was one that I’d been wanting to write for well over a year.  Each day I would walk from the Water Taxi dock to my bus to work, I’d see him dancing to the music in his head.  I’d wanted to put what I was seeing into a poem, but couldn’t quite manage to do so.  Until I was walking by there Thursday morning, when it all came together.

So, with that all said, I leave you now with a listing of the 31 poems I wrote over the course of the 30 Days of Poetry for this year.  Yes, you read that correctly, 31 poems…one day got a bonus poem!

  1. Snowgeese – January 2, 2013
  2. Refreshed – January 3, 2013
  3. Bedtime for Little Johnny Jones – January 4, 2013
  4. Raindrops – January 5, 2013
  5. The Basement – January 6, 2013
  6. A Morning Meditation – January 7, 2013
  7. Squid Jiggin’ – January 8, 2013
  8. Hard Choice – January 9, 2013
  9. Lunch Date Out – January 9, 2013
  10. Watcher Hawk – January 10, 2013
  11. Glittering Lights – January 11, 2013
  12. Winter Morning – January 12, 2013
  13. Making Words – January 13, 2013
  14. Winter Textures – January 14, 2013
  15. Seacrest Morning Sounds – January 15, 2013
  16. Drawn Up – January 16, 2013
  17. Awake – January 17, 2013
  18. Foggy Ride – January 18, 2013
  19. Visitor – January 19, 2013
  20. Point No Point – January 20, 2013
  21. Sharing – January 21, 2013
  22. Travel Light – January 22, 2013
  23. Walking Companion – January 23, 2013
  24. Steadily Towards Spring – January 24, 2013
  25. Morning Heron – January 25, 2013
  26. Nephews – January 26, 2013
  27. Journey – January 27, 2013
  28. Rainy Memories – January 28, 2013
  29. Waiting for Inspiration – January 29, 2013
  30. Pairing Off – January 30, 2013
  31. In Front of Barney’s – January 31, 3013
4 thoughts on “30 Days of Poetry – Reflections

  1. As someone close to you watching this unfold through the month, I also saw you unfold. You weren’t just writng poetry, love, you were becoming a poem, yourself. I loved seeing your eyes sparkle as ideas became words on paper and seeing you begin to dream of even more. Seeing you stir up your creative self… it was and is a thing of beauty.

    1. @Maurie – Too bad you’re way out there in the dining room…you can’t see me blush at the compliment!

      Thank you, Sweetie

I like your likes, but would really like to know what you think! Please leave a comment.

