Writing

NaNoWriMo 2015 – Taking the plunge!

 

 

30 days…

50,000 words…

1 novel…

That’s the challenge of National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo.

I first heard about NaNoWriMo in 2010 when my wife entered.  It looked like a lot of fun, and I’ve wanted to enter since.  For a long time, I never made the commitment to jump in and do it, despite having a story concept rattling around in my head for  years.

This year, we noticed that our local library has hosting a planning party for this year’s event.  Well, we decided to jump in.  We went to the party, me without really deciding what I was going to write.

Now here we are, late in the evening of day 4, and I’m sitting at 11176 words so far…over 1/5 of the way to the goal.  It feels pretty good.

I’m learning a lot about my approach to writing a story. I don’t tend to map it out (or I haven’t so far 😉 ).  It makes it all the more exciting to see where the characters are going to take the story. because the heck if I know! (OK, I know how I want it to end…)

As I busily write my novel, I’ll drop in and write a few thoughts about the process and the event itself.

Do you NaNo?  If you do, introduce yourself in the comments and let me know how it’s going for you!

 

 

 

I like your likes, but would really like to know what you think! Please leave a comment.

