Poetry

High Places

Mt Rainier from Wonderland Trail - Summer 2001
Mt Rainier from Wonderland Trail – Summer 2001

Take me to the high places
To the mountain peaks
Touched by morning’s first light
As the rising sun reaches
For a handhold as it pulls itself up
From its nightly slumber
Let me join my shadow
To that of the mountain
That stretches miles to the west

Take me where rivers are born
In frigid snow melt lakes
Nestled amongst scoured rock
And solitary wind-sculpted trees
Away from the bustle
And noise of civilization
And where forests and fields
Stretch before me
In a vast patchwork quilt

Take me to the high places
To the domain of pika
And marmot and mountain goat
To the mountain peaks
Where I stand in the light
As the sun reaches out
And caresses me with its warmth
As it bids good night
And slips into the sea

I like your likes, but would really like to know what you think! Please leave a comment.

