Writing

NaNoWriMo 2017 – The Adventure Continues

NanowrimoLast year, I took part in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo for short, or NaNo for even shorter).  For those unfamiliar with NaNo, it is a month-long event in which writers worldwide undertake to write a 50,000 word novel in the month of November.  I jumped in, and with little planning “won” by writing more than 50,000 words in the month.  But my novel wasn’t finished.  After NaNo, I worked on my book off and on.  Finally, I finished writing my first draft in September.  Now, it’s time for reviewing and editing my book.

My wife and I were talking last week, and I told her I didn’t intend to write during NaNo this year.  Instead, I’d use the time I’d put to writing to my review and editing process, as well as another project I’ve had kicking around in my mind.

I was comfortable with that decision.  It felt good.

But, apparently, my muses had other plans.

The thing about muses, you see, is they don’t play by our rules.  They don’t necessarily abide by our plans, if they run contrary to theirs.

Thus, I woke up in the tent in the pre-dawn twilight out at the coast with a story idea in my mind. As I lay watching the morning brighten and listen to the birds wake up, key characters began to develop, as did the plot.

My wife awoke next to me and I looked at her. “I guess I am writing NaNo this year.”

And so it begins…another novel from concept to completion.  OK, Muses,  you got your way.  Let’s do this!

I like your likes, but would really like to know what you think! Please leave a comment.

